Sunday Stats: Week of March 16, 2014

Sunday, Bloody Sunday…. self-disclosure time!
Loudspeaker

There is a lot of anecdotal evidence showing that people who track their fitness see more progress, likely because they know how they measure up against their goals. Now that I am starting to develop a fairly regular health and fitness routine, I’ll be publishing my stats every Sunday to track my progress. They’ll be pretty basic to start – weight and BG stats for now. Next week, I’ll start tracking the inches ((shudder)) and RHR. Also, I’ll be posting about my goals in the near future…

I have a quarterly appointment with my endocrinologist in April, after which I’ll publish many of the same stats I posted in my Baseline Assessment. I would loooovvveee to see my a1c below 7. Fingers crossed.

WEIGHT: 152 ((sigh))

DIABETIC STATS:
     7-day BG average: 181
     14-day BG average: 190
     30-day BG average: 216

     Before Meal 7-day average: 131
     Before Meal 14-day average: 146
     Before Meal 30-day average: 178

     After Meal 7-day average: 241
     After Meal 14-day average: 254
     After Meal 30-day average: 282

     Lowest BG of the week: 40
     Highest BG of the week: 344

THOUGHTS
I’m liking the overall downward trend of my diabetic stats, particularly my pre-meal BGs. I’m down 15 points for my baseline 7-day average of 196. Unfortunately, this was the only stat I took down from my meter to establish my baseline – I’m excited to see what my 14-day and 30-day averages are going to look like next week!

I clearly need some improvement in the After Meal category, as this seems to be the major source of my high BGs. This could be an issue with carb-counting, my carb-to-unit ratio (currently 1 unit of insulin for every 12 grams of carbohydrates), or a little of both. I suspect the most likely culprit is carb counting. It is not even remotely an exact science, and I am in need of a major refresher. Luckily, my endocrinologist referred me to Kaiser Permanente’s nutrition department, and I will be setting up an appointment soon.

Nota bene: A lot of my lows are going unreported. When I was without health care, I had to severely cut back on my blood sugar testing to conserve test strips, so I was taught not to test for lows because I don’t need a meter to know when I’m low (hot neck, cranky, sweaty, disoriented, HANGRY).

hangry_banner_sm

I will be getting in the habit of testing for lows to show that trend to both my readers and my endocrinologist. While we’re on the topic of evil, evil lows, I’ve been having at least one hypo a day for the past four or five days, and I am not a fan of this trend. Lows feel like shit on a stick.

Anything else you guys think I should be tracking on a weekly basis? Chime in and leave a comment!

Photo Credits: ideasmile and http://efficientawesomeness.com/

Leave a Reply

